Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
supersweet_gw

question of bone meal

supersweet
15 years ago

I'm new to grow anything. I heard that when you prepare your soil to plant tomato, you should throw in a hand full of lime to mix in with the soil. Is that right? How about bone meal? Does bone meal work as same as lime? Should I mix both in the soil? What does bone meal do for the plant? I thought that growing tomatoes only need fertilizers and water, so I didn't add anything to my plants but fertilizers! Do you guys think my plants are gonna be OK until the harvest season?

Thanks in advance

Comments (7)

• sprtsguy76
    15 years ago

Regular fertilizer is just fine. You can also find a ton of info on side dressings, foilar sprays and soil amendments. For the time being fertilizer will suffice. Bone meal, I believe is a source of phosphate, which is included in a fertilizer usually.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

I heard that when you prepare your soil to plant tomato, you should throw in a hand full of lime to mix in with the soil. Is that right? How about bone meal? Does bone meal work as same as lime? Should I mix both in the soil? What does bone meal do for the plant?

I think it all depends on your soil whether lime or bone meal is needed. Seldom would there be a call for both however. And the only way to know if either is needed is to have a professional soil test done first. That way you will know what your soil needs if anything.

Bone meal is a source of phosphorus, it is needed for blooms and fruits. Lime is a source of calcium. So if your soil test shows that your soil lacks one or both, then yes you may need some. But very few soils are deficient in calcium and both are also relatively slow acting, especially bone meal. Most agree that there is little if any immediate benefit.

Lime has the additional problem of changing the pH of your soil and that can lead to all sorts of nutrient problems for your plants.