Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigpinks

Cherokee Purple

bigpinks
10 years ago

Third yr tried and the nicest crop yet. Several over one pond. Lots of rain must agree with them and I do mean lots. Gave some to a neighbor who took them to a family gathering upstate Ohio and his niecs who is a missionary harvested some seed to take to Africa. Sure someone has grown them there before but it was a satisfying story I thought. Pound that is. CP rapidly becoming a favorite. I love the texture, color and taste. Now the size is good too!

Comments (16)

• fireduck
    10 years ago

I have one in a container that is doing well. I should have ripe ones in a week or two. Can't wait!

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

None of mine ripe yet, but they look good.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I should've planted CP instead of Brandywine and Black Krim. .
    I like CP. I had some few years back.

• mbrowne
    10 years ago

This is my first year with a Cherokee Purple. Love 'em! I'm only getting 1/2 pounders though.

• bigpinks
    Original Author
    10 years ago

some of mine are Indian Stripe and I had forgotten that fact until I noticed one on my table had a def striped pattern though not real obvious. Some are more globe shaped and smaller and others a def beafstake shape and maybe almost 5 inches across. All taste wonderful.

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Here is my first sizable CP of the season.

A picked it a bit early. So the color is not fully developed.
    I will take another picture in couple of days.

• bigpinks
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I had 17 plants this yr and picked prob a hundred tomatoes. Mostly smooth fruit ,,,mostly beefsteak shaped but some almost triangular. They are very meaty and very solid. Great tomato.

• General
    9 years ago