Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Another tomato pruning question

Posted by westminstress (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 5, 14 at 22:37

This is my first year growing tomatoes, I have two sweet 100s and one sungold, and all the plants are insane! At least six feet tall with tons of flowers and fruits (none ripe yet). I have them staked with tomato towers and the supports seem tall and strong enough, but I wasn't diligent enough with the pruning at the beginning. Should have kept them to a single stem but didn't! So, my question -- I see that often the recommendation is to prune out the suckers. I try to do that, but sometimes I miss one, and by the time I find it, it seems like it is all set to make flowers and fruit, which makes me reluctant to cut it off. My tomatoes just seem like they really want to produce fruit off the suckers instead of the main stems. But I don't want too much rampant growth, and there is a tangle of branches that I think could use some thinning. Should I trim off the suckers even if I can see tiny flower buds forming? Or would it be ok to let the sucker grow and trim off the leafy branch underneath it on which no flowers or fruit form? I wouldn't take all of those, but just thin the foliage a bit. Or just give up and let nature take its course? Thanks for your advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Another tomato pruning question

My tomatoes just seem like they really want to produce fruit off the suckers instead of the main stems.

Yep, that is their nature. :)

Or would it be ok to let the sucker grow and trim off the leafy branch underneath it on which no flowers or fruit form? I wouldn't take all of those, but just thin the foliage a bit

That is the best way to go if you have to do some pruning. Just don't over-do it. The plant needs those leaves to produce energy and to shield the fruit from sunburn. Where you live (need to include that info) will determine how much sun scorch protection your fruit needs.