Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elightfl

Effects of prolonged heat

elight
12 years ago

This is my first year growing and needless to say, I've learned so much every step of the way (that unfortunately I have to wait 9 months before putting into practice). So now it's time for another lesson... Much of the country is experiencing extreme heat right now. I feel lucky to be in southeastern NY where temperatures have stayed under 100.

What are the effects of severe, prolonged heat on plants like tomatoes? What can be done to mitigate them? Should plants be moved to the shade at some point (or even indoors)? What if that's not possible?

Looking forward to your responses.

Comments (11)

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

I remember reading that people who grow in really inhospitably hot climates use shade cloth canopies over their tomatoes. Unfortunately I don't remember any details. Try searching the forum for "shade cloth" and "shadecloth."

• Bets
    12 years ago

Prolonged temperatures of 95 degrees and higher can denature pollen making it sterile so that flowers that bloom will not be fertilized, resulting in blossom drop. Anything that can lower the temperature in a given area can help, especially shading the plants with shade cloth as missingtheobvious has said.

Betsy

Here is a link that might be useful: "Blossom Drop" FAQ

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Prolonged heat also slows ripening or stops it all together until the weather breaks. You can even get fruit cooked from the inside out - boiled in the peel so to speak - if it gets really hot enough - 109 here today.

• kterlep
    12 years ago

I thought our tomatoes would stall because we're having a heat wave (Southeastern Indiana) but we haven't had any blossom drop. It seems the tomatoes are enjoying the sauna-like weather. The only problem is, they're growing like mad and I can't bear to go out to tie them up. :)

• deb1955
    12 years ago