Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hgds

unknown tomatoes! need identifying

hgds
9 years ago

Hi there, I am new to growing tomatoes and this year grew some without knowing what variety they were, and I threw away the information. Wondering if anyone has any ideas? Inside is a darker red which I have a picture of. Outside is softer and inside is a bit mushy. Very sweet. Any ideas and they are safe to eat right? Lol

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• hgds
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Picture of inside

• labradors_gw
    9 years ago

They are definitely tomatoes and safe to eat.

They look like black tomatoes to me. There are many different varieties, so It's impossible to tell which one they are, but perhaps others can give you some ideas of black tomato varieties which have green shoulders. If you really want to know, you should ask your source of seed or plants.

Enjoy!

Linda

• hgds
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks. Anyone have ideas? Source of plant wouldn't know because it was a supermarket

• carolyn137
    9 years ago

If even a so called black variety there are several hundreds that are known and just estimating here, or suggesting, that over half of them have green shoulders.

Once fruits have lost their label or identity there'sa absolutely no way to ID them; they are orphans..

I'd suggest asking at the supermarket, but that isnt going to work since what they offer, almost always, are mixed fruits, and the same can happen at Farmer's markets as well, although with Farmer's Markets it's often easier to ID something if the person AT the market is the onewho grew the tomatoes offered.

Carolyn

• PupillaCharites
    9 years ago

Orphans again ;-(

OP, by throwing away the information, do you mean packages of seeds? If so, you can check and see if their limited selection of seeds at the supermarket survived and go through what's left and see if anything seems to make sense/match.