Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amberleaf_gw

tomato gone bushy 5 ft tall 4 ft wide

amberleaf
12 years ago

This is my first time Ive grown tomato. I bought it in march 3inch high. I potted into bigger pot twice since. I let it grow and now its 5foot tall. I read that you need to cut off any sideshoot that appears. But only just found out now. The plant has massive branchs that maybe should have been nipped out ages ago. There is only 6 little green ones spread about. It looks like a tree! No idea type cos its label was just a tomato plant. Am i right that it should be grown with the main stem only ;) there is only few bunches of little yellow flowers. Have i ruined it?

Comments (13)

• yumtomatoes
    12 years ago

What are you fertilizing with? When you feed a tomato plant a fertilizer that has too much nitrogen in it, you get foliage at the expense of flowers.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

There's no need to cut off "side shoots" (aka "suckers"). I was brought up to do just that, but I soon realized that the only thing it was accomplishing was to reduce the number of tomatoes I got: an important issue in dry summers when we lost most of the lower tomatoes to thirsty wildlife or to severe, moldy cracks.

Now I let the first suckers grow and only remove the later suckers if it looks like the plant will get so thick I won't be able to monitor the center of the plant for hornworms or disease (there's more likelihood of fungal disease in humid or wet situations if the foliage gets too thick).

yumtomatoes is right that you may have over-fertilized. Here's my epic basics-of-fertilizer-and-dangers-of-excess-nitrogen post from another thread:
    It's the huge 9th post -- can't miss it.