Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulah_gardener

Have you grown Polish Paste Tomatoes?

paulah_gardener
11 years ago

Has anyone grown Polish Paste Tomatoes. This is my first year to grow them. This has not been a great year for gardens. My PPT are large+ meaty -- also are cracking and have green shoulders. Is this normal? They taste wonderful. Any comments will be helpful. Paula

Comments (9)

• carolyn137
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Paula, there are lots of paste varieties that originated in Poland, Opalka being one of them.

Do you have the name of the specific variety you're growing?

I can find reference to just one variety actually called Polish Paste, a page for it at Tania's wonderful website>

http://t.tatianastomatobase.com/wiki/Polish_Paste

.... and seeds not all that available.

But I can also bring up another of Tania's lists of paste varieties with many of Polish origin and other origins as well andwill link to it below.

Since you referred to Polish Tomatoes, ( plural), I wasn't sure what variety you were growing. What is the shape and color and name, again, of what you're growing?

And yes, green shoulders on many varieties, not just paste varieties,is quite common. And thats' b/c they lack what's called the unifrom ripening gene which is bred into almost ALL hybrid varieties. Most open pollinated (OP) varieties already do have that gene naturally.

Hope that helps.

Carolyn

Here is a link that might be useful: Paste varieties

• paulah_gardener
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Carolyn There ia a polish paste listed in the websight you sent me. It is the one I have and the discription is right on. I did have trouble finding the seed. Thank you for helping. sincerely Paula

• carolyn137
    11 years ago

Paula, the reason I linked to that Polish Paste one for you in the body of the text, not the link below, WAS in case the actual name of the variety you are growing WAS Polish Paste. ( wink)