Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seysonn

Next Season Tomato Planting Plans

seysonn
10 years ago

For the seasoned Gardener, with a lot of experience and resources (acreage, supplies, equipments) It can come automatic, just like riding a bicycle. But for the rest of us with less experience and very limited resources, things are not that simple. Need to struggle a bit.
So the best way to cope with this situation(IMO) is to do some homework , shop around, search and plan. You might not be able to realize everything you plan, but "A PLAN" is better than NO PLAN.

I, myself, have to deal with the footage and short/cool season limitations. In other words, I do not have the luxury of trying everything I like, in terms of variety and quantity. I need to narrow down my choices to about 10 to 12 plants, at the most. And I have to focus on early and mid season varieties
Needless to say, that I want to grow for taste and for some reasonable production .

With those in mind, I am studying the possibilities. So far, I am almost decided on the followings:
STUPICE
SUNGOLD
BLACK PRINCESS,
SWEET N NEAT

considering:
Rambling Red Strip (DTM~45)
Oregon Spring (DTM ~60)
Bloody Butcher (DTM ~55)
Black Krim (DTM ~80)
Costaluto (DTM ~80)
Persimmon (DTM ~80)
Mortgage Lifter (DTM ~80)
German Johnson (DTM ~65)

OK. Lets see what your plans are.
Do you care to comment about my preliminary selections?
I would certainly appreciate them.

Thank you

EDITION, REVISIONS:
In this part I will revise my previous choices:
8/30/13: : A) Add Paul Robeson, ,,, Isis Candy, Cherokee Purple,

This post was edited by seysonn on Sat, Aug 31, 13 at 13:01

Comments (74)

• macbettz
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Unless you have a thing for cherry tomatoes ,I would think 4 plants is alot .... If it were me I would only go with two cherry plants at the most and try something else.

• seysonn
    Original Author
    10 years ago