Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
staked tomatoes more or less quit producing

Posted by civ_IV_fan 6a (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 16, 11 at 8:52

I have three staked tomatoes - one Mr Stripey and two beefmaster. All three are six to seven feet tall, and I pruned most suckers in early growth.

Mr. Stripey hasn't made even one flower and his lower half looks brown and dead.

The beefmasters both started strong and gave me 10-12 tomatoes between them by the first week of august. But now I only have like two small ripening tomatoes. The beefmasters also look yellow and dead-ish on the lower half while the upper halfs look green and strong.

This is my first time with tomatoes. Can I expect or encourage a second round of tomatoes? Should the bottoms of the vines be yellowing and looking dead? If Mr. Stripey hasn't produced yet, can I give up on him?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: staked tomatoes more or less quit producing

Can you provide a picture ?
What are they planted in ?

Did you fertilize your plants?

o

I will provide a picture. They are planted in a border bed, more or less an amended topsoil. I fertilized with 10-10-10 type pellets in mid June.

I am in an urban setting and sunlight can be dappled. When we moved in, tomatoes in that same spot grew pretty well, but the fact is they are only getting about 6-7 hours of direct sunlight a day. I'm wondering if that has something to do with it.

o

6 hours of direct sun is considered "full sun." Tomatoes would be happy with that. For instance, for many years I grew tomatoes right up against the east wall of a house: no sun after noon. They did fine.

That amount of dappled sun might be a problem.

o

Sorry about the picture quality.

o

• Posted by qaguy Sunset 21/LosAngeles (My Page) on
    Fri, Aug 19, 11 at 20:22

How's the weather been? Hot and/or humid conditions can
prevent fruiting.

I'm in SoCal and I get fruit early in the summer and then