Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandolls

Are these Kosovo ?

mandolls
10 years ago

These are new for me, but from everything I have read they should be much larger fruit. Some sites say 8-12 oz. some say 1-2 lb.

When I google images there are a few different shapes and that are labeled Kosovo. And I dont see any images that show the strong dark green/light green color change that are on all of mine.

The tomato towards the back (not the one the finger is touching) is starting to blush. It is maybe 2.5 x 2", smaller than many roma types.

The plants seem very healthy, about 6ft. I grow with only 5-6 hours of sun, so I can expect smaller fruit, but not this small.

Does anyone have experience with these?

Comments (5)

• carolyn137
    10 years ago

Yes, I have lots of experience with Kosovo, see the link below, seeds directly from Glenn Parker.

Yes it's a heart and look at the shapes,mostly hearts, at Tania's link below.

And yes you'll see lots of differences as to sizes since it depends on the season grown when someone reports, what the weather was like in that season, what amendments were used and if so which ones and when,what the soil is like, and how the plants are grown.

When I look at the listings for Kosovo in the annual SSE Yearbook, for members, I see DTM's and sizes all over the place based on the variables I notedabove, and I left out where grown in a geographic sense.

If I were you I'd wait a bit to see if they do turn pink, most are hearts, and then you'l lknow.

IT's a great heart,and I'm a heat lover and have grown many heart varieties.

The green at the stem end of the fruits is almost always there in unripe fruits, it's par tof the ripening process, but the fruits wil lripen up to pink.

Hope that helps.,

Carolyn

Here is a link that might be useful: Kosovo

• mandolls
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for responding Carolyn.