Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
questioningserenity

Composting with no space?

Alright, so recently I posted on the rose forum about having no space to really compost(no room on the patio and definitely no room in the kitchen) But I had read in another topic about someone just throwing things such as banana peels, used coffee grounds and eggshells in the container pots.

What I wanted to ask here is would these be ok for tomato's too? Someone gave me a great idea of mixing these and alil water in a blender to make a 'compost smoothie' and I thought it was a great idea! I also have that stinky fish emulsion and wanted to know, could I use that for the tomato plant as well? I'm hoping to use this for my tomato's and my watermelons(I'll ask the fruit forum if no watermelon growers see on this or the rose forum xP )

Hopefully ya'll don't see this as too beginner of a question, this is my first year as a gardener, and I'm hoping I gain my grandmother's level of green thumb one day :)

Comments (4)

• yukkuri_kame
    10 years ago

Adding a little bit of raw kitchen waste to containers can be OK, but unless you have tons of containers you aren't going to be able to process much of your kitchen waste. If you end up with a stinky, slimy, moldy blob with lots of flies, then you're growing more pathogens than doing good.

Coffee grounds are good soil amendments in moderate amounts, but high in nitrogen so too much and you will encourage lots of leafy growth and likely few fruits.

You're probably better off with a compact composting system like EM Bokashi or a small worm bin, and then fertilizing your pots with the worm juice or EM liquid. My wife used the Bokashi system on her Tokyo balcony to great effect. Some urbanites even keep a worm bin in a kitchen drawer.

• Bets
    10 years ago

Hi QS,