Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
huckleberrynw

Mealy/mushy tomato advice

huckleberrynw
12 years ago

This is my first time posting, but I have learned so much about tomatoes from all of you -thank you! I've grown a few tomatoes in containers before, but this is my first foray into more serious gardening.

I just started harvesting "big" tomatoes (i.e. non-Sungolds) early last week and so far all have been mushy/mealy. Early girl, Dorothy's Delight, and Patio have each produced a few fruit so far and they are mushy to varying degrees. I was hoping it was just the first fruit, but now it's a week later and it's still happening.

I'm wondering if I'm watering too much or if it's the cold temperatures we've had. Or something else? Or maybe I should pick them sooner and let them ripen indoors? Mostly, I want to know if there's something I can do to fix it.

Background:

- My tomatoes are in 2 raised beds, each 3X10 and raised about 10 inches.

- The beds are new this year. I filled them with a gardening soil mix, added tomato tone, and covered with a layer of compost.

- I planted large nursery starts in late May.

- There are 5 plants per bed, mostly indeterminate, and it's quite a jungle with lots and lots of green fruit set. I've staked so the fruit is off the ground and occasionally pruned suckers to keep them somewhat manageable and off of the path.

- They get full sun, morning to evening.

- I've been using drip irrigation on a timer that waters them for 30 minutes every morning (that is 10 gallons per bed/day). We don't get rain in the summer, so that's their only water source.

- Our summer has been quite cool. August is usually our hottest month and we've been in the high-70's during the day and in the mid-50's at night.

- I've picked the fruit the first day that it was completely red.

Oh, in case it matters, the other plants that haven't ripened yet include: Brandywine, Momotaro, Roma, Costoluto Genovese, Black cherry, Yellow Mortgage lifter