Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pupillacharites

Leaf Mold Strategy

PupillaCharites
9 years ago

Leaf Mold is dreadful. I have the faintest beginnings of it and immediately removed all the affected leaves (mostly the leaflets only), which at this point I can afford with the lush foliage.

I sprayed with Daconil a second time, now not as preventative as the first. I am just at the beginning of my production from the plant and the first tomatoes are all set fine. I will apply a copper fungicide, I thought, before the next forecasted rain. Today I went out and found fresh new lesions. No big deal, but this may be the tip of the iceberg. The humidity averages over 85% here from 11pm to beyond 9am, but it hasn't rained lately thankfully.

I can't continue to defoliate to control this. I have zero experience with this disease and need some suggestions and comments.

The season should last a bit beyond Christmas if I had healthy plants. The next two months will be hovering in the low 80's and half days of over 85% humidity, which are this disease's favorite growing conditions. Supposedly this is my fall season.

I have a whole new set of seedling I will transplant into a nearby hoop house that the sides will be open, about 20 feet away and I hope they will last into January. and they will be ready to transplant there in less than three weeks.

I nead advice badly from someone who has experience with leaf mold. On one hand I don't want to lose my current producers in queue, since the hoop house is an experiment and may be too humid making it risky, and on the other I have the tomatoes on these plants and tyhe potential for spores.