Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandshifter

Brandywine red or otv?

sandshifter
11 years ago

This is my first year growing heirlooms. Lots of fun so far. It is neat to see what they turn into and how they taste.The whole neighborhood is liking them I purchased a flat of 6 brandywine. They were not labled as to what strain of brandywine they were. 5 of them turned out to be what I believe is brandwine black. One has a small red fruit between the size of a tennis ball and a ping pong ball. I am thinking it is either OTV or brandwine red. I am unable to find anydescription to help me figure which one. Is there any way to determine which? For what it is worth the stem does not penetrate very far into the tomato.

Comments (13)

• ncrealestateguy
    11 years ago

I have grown OTV for two years now... they are orange, not red. And usually larger than a tennis ball. At least mine. Not much help I know.

• carolyn137
    11 years ago

If I bought a flat of what was labeled Brandywine, I'd expect PL plants with large pink beefsteak shaped fruits.

And I'm surprised that you got what you're calling Black Brandywine and something else you think is either OTV Brandywine or Red Brandywine.

At this point, if it were me, I wouldn't trust anything you got from that flat as to a definitive identification/description. Sigh.

I've linked below to Tania's tomato data base for OTV Brandywine and you can see that it's a large beefsteak fruited PL variety and I'm the Carolyn referred to in her description. The fruits are red with orange shoulders most of the time.

Red Brandywine, there are no strains of it and I'll also link to it so you can cut and paste and see what it should be, which is an RL plant with medium sized oblate ( flattened) red fruits.

http://t.tatianastomatobase.com:88/wiki/Brandywine,_Red