Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessewo

Green Zebra-how do you tell when it's ripe?

jessewo
13 years ago

This is my first time growing green 'maters & I was wondering how to tell when it's time to pick? Any tips?

Comments (4)

• karencon
    13 years ago

Just had my first one yesterday and picked it when it looked like this. The green background gets more yellow. You can always go by feel too.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• t-bird
    13 years ago

Great pic Karen! Thanks so much!

I have 21 potential varieties planted - ripe colors include red, pink, yellow, green, purple, and black, and I lost all my tag info!!! Sharpie on plastic - it doesn't last! And - never grew any of these before.

Trying to figure out which mater is which, what a conundrum!

I'm guess by feel - giving under gentle pressure? like an avocado but a bit less give than that?

Any other advice would be wonderful!

• karencon
    13 years ago