Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goodground

Most Popular Tomato

goodground
9 years ago

Besides all the well deserved Brandy Boy hype recently sparked by Hudson's AWESOME grow & pics, I think Cherokee Purple is still one of the most popular tomatoes on these boards. I too will be hunting down Brandy Boys seeds for next year. :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:1385359}}

Comments (20)

• goodground
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Also growing Gypsy for the first time since they sent a free pack of seeds. So far not as large as CP but more productive. This plant has multiple clusters of 8 with about 50 total. Brandy Boy will take their spot next year.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:1385360}}

• fireduck
    9 years ago

g...I agree with CP being an awesome tomato. I am no mater expert (7 varieties last year and 8 this year). But, I like my CP's the best. I am still trying to like my Mortgage Lifter. I think they are getting better with time...but maybe I should pick with green shoulders. I may have let some get over-ripe.

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Goodground,

I agree with you. From all the posts and comments here, I can say that Cherokee Purple is very popular. In the grape size Sun Gold is also seems o be the most popular.

BTW, I am growing both of those. So far no ripe CP in my garden but have been picking SG from mid July. I like them. Not very sweet but really tasty.

• goodground
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Fireduck,
    I was told by my wife that I let my toms get too ripe. This year I have been picking everything that blushes because I can't wait. lol

Seysonn,
    Picked my first CP to ripen on counter today. Already tasted about half dozen Gypsy but they were small. Plenty of both to come.

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Talking about Most Popular.
    Here is a picture of some Cherokee Purple on one of my plants. The are big. Over one pound each for sure. But not ripe (sigh)

• lr4ten
    9 years ago