Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
growing yellow pear tomatoes on balcony

Posted by yippee1999 6/7 NYC (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 13, 12 at 21:55

Hi everyone. This is my first time growing vegetables on a balcony in pots. My yellow pear tomato plant is looking very strong and I can see a few little yellow flowers. Someone was telling me that in order for them to fruit, they need bees to pollinate them. Living with a 4th floor balcony, I don't see many insects around (though just the other day I DID happen to see a bee on the balcony). But....without being close to other greenery, trees etc..... will my balcony actually ATTRACT bees? What is it that would make them make a special stop here? ;-) Can they somehow actually detect or smell or understand even from a distance, that I may have plants here that they'd want to pollinate?

My little yellow flowers have been on the plant for maybe a week now with no discernible change. I fear that bees may not come and so my plant will never actually bear fruit... ?

Tx!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: growing yellow pear tomatoes on balcony

Tomatoes are self pollinating and bees are Not needed.
Give the plant a little shaking each day while flowering helps release more pollen.
There are far better choices of toms to grow than Yellow Pear.Many here and myself included do not care for them .

o

Most of the regular bees can't really pollinate tomatoes all that well. Bumblebees, due to their mass, are much more efficient as they can efficiently break the *insert term here* in the flower. Just shake, shake, shake, senora ;)

Cheers,
Djole

o

Thanks. I'll try giving the plant a shake. So all tomatoes are self-pollinating? So then why did someone else tell me bees are needed?

Also, I happen to love yellow pear tomatoes. I'm sure there are other things other people choose to grow that I myself 'do not care for'. Different strokes for different folks I guess.

o