Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sencbe

Tomatoe blooms but no fruit

sencbe
10 years ago

Hi,

I am new to gardening and tried tomato plants from seeds. I hope its wine tomato. Plant grew fast and had lot of flowers (bloomed) but there was no fruit and all the flowers dried up. I am watering if I feel the soil is dry and also I used only once the fertilizer but added compost (provided by city) twice. Herewith I've attached the photo please let me know what I am doing wrong.

Comments (5)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

Maybe they didn't get pollinated? I try to plant flowers that attract bees so they will pollinate my plants. The best attractor plant this year was Holy Basil. I have tons of seeds if you want some. They grow like a weed and they made a nice tasting medicinal tea. Supposed to be good for lost of ailments.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Tomatoes are self-pollinating. They don't require bees.

The most common cause of no fruit developing is called Blossom Drop. I linked the FAQ all about it below. It is primarily weather/air temps/humidity related and California this time of year is usually not favorable to tomatoes.

Your plants looks rather anemic and in need of a good feeding of a well balanced fertilizer. Compost only works as a source of nutrients if you have an active soil food web in the soil. That takes time to develop. If you want only organic fertilizers there are many available. The yellow leaves near the bottom are from over-watering.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Blossom Drop FAQ

• zzackey
    10 years ago

Thanks! i didn't know that. Curious why my heirlooms did so poorly. I planted them at the right time in well composted soil and watered them regularly.

• Bets
    10 years ago

Agree with what Dave says. Also have comment with questions: