Wed, Aug 20, 14 at 23:57

So proud, tomatoes planted week after Fathers Day

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First Blush-2014 SE Texas

5,4,3,2,1 ! BLT !

o

Curious as to why planted so late in your location? What variety? It is well past first blush.

Dave

o

I have been battling cancer for over two years. I have won as I am now cancer free. I went and visited my parents in South Texas. My father has always had a garden and he inspired me. When I returned home, I did a quick internet search and decided to start my container garden. I bought three plants from BBS and seeds. I planted seeds directly in the buckets. The three transplants that I got were Solar Fire and Florida 91. The seedlings are Honey Delight, Patio Pincess, SW 100, and Better Bush. I also planted eggplant, radishes, and carrots. Using buckets I was able to garden for less money. I am already planning/expanding my 2015 garden.

o

Looks great, congratulations on both accounts!!!!!!

o

Going on the 4-year mark here, so congratulations from one survivor to another! Gardening was what kept me going through all the "stuff" and its aftermath, so good for you!!!! Although I guarantee you will never look at a store-bought tomato the same after tasting your own home-grown :)
Edie

o

Thanks to all.

Everything takes on a new meaning. God Bless

o

• Posted by LKZZ 7b (My Page) on
    Thu, Aug 21, 14 at 18:57

Beautiful...enjoy Dear One.

o

So how was the BLT? : )

o

• Posted by digdirt 6b-7a North AR (My Page) on
    Thu, Aug 21, 14 at 21:46

That is a great way to celebrate life! :)

Dave

o

I agree! Gardening is good for the soul! All the best, you are an inspiration!
Sharon

o

Well done , Scott.
You have (I think ) a long season to enjoy the fruits of your plants up until the frost (If there is one).

sey

o

Thanks.All

There are years hear in SE Texas where we will not get frost until January. Wouldn't that be sweet to have garden fresh tomatoes at Christmas.