Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rt_peasant

Watering strategy for best flavor?

rt_peasant
12 years ago

I may have learned something this year about getting great tasting tomatoes. It's probably old news, but I thought I'd share my experience anyway and ask a few questions.

First, a little background. I'm a tomato growing newbie, having grown tomatoes for the past 4 years. Aside from my Cherokee Purples which always taste great, most of my tomatoes have tasted mediocre at best. I've tried a number of varieties with similar bland results, including Big Beef, Supersonic, Fabulous, Super Fantastic, and Celebrity. But they've always tasted watered down, barely better than store bought. I've read on this forum about how overwatering dilutes the flavor, and I've tried for the past 2 years to reduce the amount of water I apply with my drip system. Every year I get excited about finally producing some decent tasting tomatoes, but in the heat of summer when my tomato plants start shriveling up, I get scared and start watering them again.

This year, I gave some of my Supersonic and Fabulous seedlings to a neighbor who did not give them much water. The other day I visited him, and checked out his plants. They were some of the most anemic looking tomato plants I've ever seen. Barely knee high and sparsely leaved, with half of the leaves turned brown. Most of the tomatoes had blossom end rot, and the fully-ripe tomatoes were golf-ball sized. I took a few home to make salsa out them, and bit into one to taste it. I was floored. It was perhaps the best tasting tomato I've ever had. The next one and the one after that were the same way.