Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomatoes are ripening way too small

Posted by azscp 9 (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 7, 07 at 5:11

This is my first attempt at growing tomatoes but something isn't right. I'm using E.B. Stone soil and fertilizer and I have several large organic varieties in separate containers. I'd say the pots are 12-15 inches tall and about 12-15 inches wide at the top. The problem I'm having is that the tomatoes aren't getting as big as they should be. Not even close. I'm figuring these guys should at least be baseball sized but I'm barely getting dime sized fruit. They are turing red before they finish growing. I live in Arizona and it's pretty hot here so I water every day. I'm at a loss and I'm beginning to think it's too late in the season to salvage anything.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm a little discouraged because what I thought would be simple, hasn't been so simple.

Thanks,
Steve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomatoes are ripening way too small

Size of fruit is mostly determined by the genetics of the plant variety. So we need to know the names of the varieties you are growing please.

Dave

o

Tomatoes on average don't get as large in containers as they do in ground. That has been my experience. Also, later in the season, fruits of many varieties tend to naturally be smaller than the earlier harvested ones.

o

Turning red before they finish growing---do they have blossom end rot?

Here where it's mostly 80's to low 90's, for 4 & 5 gallon containers, I use about 3 qts of water per plant daily, plus heavy fertilization regularly. Your temps probably need even more water. If you want big tomatoes from containers, you need lots of water & food... and most organic fertilizers get washed out of containers before they even have a chance to work, and those that stick around often take too long to work.

Mark

o

i planted a beefsteak variety.

o