Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato plant too tall

Posted by Greenhorn_greenthumb none (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 1, 14 at 15:16

Hello everyone/anyone,

I'm new to gardening as my name indicates. Currently I have three indeterminate, big boy tomatoe plants growing in separate containers. Two of the larger ones are in 6 - 7 gallon containers. First off, is that ok? The taller of the two is approximately 8' tall. The other approx 4 feet. Should I prune the 8 footer so I can build a cage around it? I've been able protect them from insects but now as of last night or early this am, two of the most ripe tomatoes became victims of what I'm assuming was a squirrel. Need help! Thanks.

Sincerely,

Greenhorn_greenthumb

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato plant too tall

May I suggest you to ask your questions in the Container Gardening ? You might have more luck.

o

No containers that small are not recommended for indeterminate varieties - double the container size at least. As to pruning/topping - that is your choice if you don't mind losing all the fruit production it will cost you.

The plant is just growing normally so the problem isn't the plant but the way it is being grown. If you don't want plants that tall then grow determinate varieties and cage them from the day of planting so they can grow into the cage.

You don't indicate where you live or what your garden zone is but in most of the country it is too late in the season to start trying to train the plant now. Just take what you can get from it and use the lessons learned this year to plan better for next year.

Dave

o

Hi Greenhorn,