Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johannajo

Tomato plant dying, not sure what's wrong?

johannajo
9 years ago

I'm new to gardening and this is my first time growing a tomato plant. For the past couple weeks my tomato plant has slowly been turning yellow from the bottom up. I thought it was because it was the plant was trying to produce fruit ((albeit there is only one lil tomato on it)) but the leaves started getting grey splotches on them which made me worried, but I chalked it up to over watering. In the past couple days I've noticed lots of tiny black dots on the leaves. A couple leaves have thinly blackened around the edges. And at least half of the stems curl downward. Does anyone have an idea what could be going on? And is there anything I can do to save the plant? Thank you!

Comments (10)

• johannajo
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Just adding another photo of the spots

• carolyn137
    9 years ago

Different diseases appear in different parts of the country so could you please share with us in a geographic sense where you grow your tomatoes.

Are there any other tomatoplants you grew, or only this one and did you grow it from seed or buy it and if others do they all, or most, have the same symptoms?

What has the weather been like lately where you are.

Is it a new place where you are growing, and I ask b'c you said the leaves were turning yellow from the bottom up.

Carolyn

• daniel_nyc
    9 years ago

johannajo, did you mulch ?

Did you fungicide ?

This post was edited by Daniel_NY on Wed, Sep 10, 14 at 22:08

• johannajo
    Original Author
    9 years ago