Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westy1941

Bees, Wasps - Preventing Harvest

Carole Westgaard
10 years ago

There must be a thousand around my 15 tomato plants. I've never seen this before but this is my first year in Colorado - didn't happen in Illinois. Allergic to the venom - how do I deal with this other than head to foot armour? Is this unusual wasp behavior (not sure if they're bees or wasps or what)....

Westy

Comments (12)

• labradors_gw
    10 years ago

It could be that there is a ground wasp nest nearby. Maybe you could get someone who is not allergic to them to check them out, then perhaps you could get someone to deal with them in the evening when they are sleepy.

Linda

• HotHabaneroLady
    10 years ago

It sounds like maybe a nest is nearby. You can get spray cans to kill off a nest from Lowes or Home Depot. But use them at night when the wasps are all in their nests and they are inactive sleeping.

• carolyn137
    10 years ago

And if you know you have an allergic response to either bees or wasps I sure hope you carry an epi pen ( adrenalin) when outside.

A good friend of mine was at my place, stepped on a groundnest of hornets,nothing happened and all was well,

Later that summer he was mowing his own lawn and where the popup sprinkers were there was a goundnest in one of them. He went into anaphylatic shock and when his wife came home she drove him ASAP for help, and he survived.

One has to have what's called a sensitizing dose of venom to start with,only then are antibodies made and then subsequent stings can often lead to death.

Unless one carries an Epi Pen wherever she/he goes.

I lived and worked in Denver fo rmany years and never saw what you described on my tomatoes, but I wanted to ask if you had many rotten tomatoes in your garden, b'c that too can draw insects as well..

Lastly, if allergic have you considered desensitization once it's established exactly which insects you're allergic to?

Hope that helps,

Carolyn