Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saoodhashim

Regular Tomato flowering

saoodhashim
10 years ago

To start with my gardening endeavors, I bought two regular tomato plant (the indeterminate regular type variety - don't know whats it called) from the local nursery about 7 weeks back and transplanted it couple of times and finally into its 5 gallon container. I would assume that they were around 4 weeks old when I bought it, so that that makes it 11 weeks. Being a beginner, I made a lot of mistakes, over watering, underwatering, compacted soil, heavy soil, potting soil and what not. At one point I even found some small flying insects (based on research on internet it seemed psylids) near one of them in huge numbers and I applied a very concentrated liquid soap (approx. 25:75 with water) and it actually burned many of its leaves. It seems I did everything to kill those, but they have survived all of my onslaught :)

My question is that at the moment they are around 1.5 feet in height and perhaps while I was transplanting them, they would have around 6 inches underneath the potting soil. So that makes it around 2 feet tall and have starting showing flower buds. Do the regular tomatoes give flowers at this height? While reading various materials on veggies, I remember that any flowers developed at early stage of the plant should be pinched off so that more energy can be used in roots and leaves development for a good fruit later. I dont know whether I should pinch these flowers off? Their age (11 weeks - almost 3 months) tells me that this is not early stages of development and the plants are maturing, whereas the height of the plant tell me that it is a very small plant and therefore at early stage development. I assume it to be in the early stages, because of the time wasted in recovering from the mistakes I made.

How should I proceed?

Comments (5)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Saood,