Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drew51_gw

Spray regime for tomatoes

I'm fairly new to growing tomatoes, and was wondering what is used to prevent/treat early and late blight? Or any of the mildews, although I have never run into this problem. Not sure it is even an issue with tomatoes? I have a number of fruit trees and some of the products can be used on tomatoes. But I'm interested in learning from those that are more experienced as to what works best. So many products are out there, I hate to reinvent the wheel again, I'm sure others could benefit from this thread too.

Comments (7)

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

OK, since this forum is of little help, I looked myself.
    Some good info on late blight.

Here is a link that might be useful: Late blight info from Cornell

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    Original Author
    10 years ago

By Carolyn J. Male

It's midsummer in the tomato patch. You go out to admire your green and healthy plants, and what do you see but curling brown or yellow leaves, black or gray spots, or other blemishes. It's not a pretty sight, but many home gardeners face it every summer. Plants slowly lose their leaves, reducing fruit yield, and will very likely die. To make energy to fuel plant and fruit growth -- and to produce all those wonderful flavor components that make homegrown tomatoes so irresistible -- the plants need leaves. So, if the leaves show signs of a disease, you need to diagnose it in hopes of preventing it from spreading.

The most common maladies of tomatoes can be classed as systemic or foliar. This article focuses on foliar diseases, but because both foliar and systemic diseases can affect the leaves, you need to know how the two kinds differ from each other.

Tomato Diseases: Systemic or Foliar?