Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rcdaniels

Technical Question for Tomato Experts on Heat Stress

rcdaniels
9 years ago

As a gardener in Central Texas, I am all too familiar with the period in July, August, and September where temperatures are too high for tomatoes to set fruit.

I, like many others, have been able to improve my yield by planting heat tolerant hybrids, rather than only heirloom and OP varieties (I grew the Summer Set cultivar this year), which produce sporadically in the high heat.

I have been reading some literature on heat stress in tomatoes. My current favorite reference by Sato, Peet, and Thomas, "Physiological factors limit fruit set of tomato under chronic, mild heat stress" is available for free (just do a quick google search if interested).

My background isn't in horticulture or botany, but the literature says that a large factor that contributes to poor fruit set is the number of pollen grains released from the anther (not to be confused with the number of pollen grains produced) during heat stress (see Discussion section of above reference). In fact, a direct correlation has been shown between the number of pollen grains released and the fruit set % in heat stress conditions.

Here is my question: why can't we use cross pollination between a heat-set cultivar as the male donor and a heat-intolerant cultivar as the pollen recipient to improve fruit set of the heat-intolerant cultivar during heat stress conditions? I recognize that this is a waste of time for commercial growers. I also recognize that you wouldn't be able to save seed for heirloom varieties, but if it allows me to produce more Brandywine fruit in my home garden, isn't it worth it?