Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bearclaw_tx

Disease ID - Curly Top? PICS

bearclaw_tx
13 years ago

Hello. I've recently built raised beds and planted tomatoes. The transplants started off great then suddenly stopped growing. The new growth was curling and eventually curled so heavily that the leaves were not even opening. I thought at first it could be due to a virus present in the soil, but after researching my symptoms, it looks like curly top. (See Pics)

Since they had been severely stunted and were either going to die or not produce, I pulled them and replanted with larger transplants.

Do my new transplants have a shot or are they doomed? I am at a loss. I've been gardening for 10 years or so and have never seen this before.

Is my soil causing this or is it the leaf hoppers I've read about?

Thanks for any help!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49654001@N08/?saved=1

Here is a link that might be useful: Pics

Comments (7)

• jean001
    13 years ago

Virus doesn;'t survive in soil

Beyond that, what weed killer have you or someone else used? Those are great examples of damage following weedkiller -- most likely the active ingredients 2,4-D and/or triclopyr.

That can occur through direct hits, also spray drift on a breeze, as well as spray turbulence.

• sully_22
    13 years ago