Return to the Tomato Pests & Diseases Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help identify tomato leaf spots?

Posted by echo_of_eve WA (My Page) on
Tue, May 25, 10 at 1:03

Hi, I'm new to gardening and new to the forum. I bought a couple of nice looking tomato plants from an old guy at our local farmer's market two weeks ago. One was a Cherokee Purple, and one was a Sweet 100 cherry tomato. The Cherokee purple looks great.

Problem is, I started noticing about a week ago some darker green looking spots on the mature leaves of the Sweet 100. My first thought was that it was blight and I should pitch it immediately... but it doesn't LOOK like the pictures of blight that I see online. The leaves have slowly gotten more spots, but the spots died. There's no discoloration other than the dead spots.

Note on the image: there's no white on the leaves, that's just reflection from the flash that you see.

http://img638.imageshack.us/i/img0988d.jpg/
http://img179.imageshack.us/i/img0981nz.jpg/

If anyone could identify this, tell me if I should rip out the plant or if not, how to treat it, I would be greatly appreciative. I have no idea what I'm doing, and no one to teach me how to garden. :/

Image link: Please help identify tomato leaf spots? (58 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help identify tomato leaf spots?

This doesn't look like a disease and, you're right, it's definitely not blight.

Looks like insect damage to me.

o

I agree with Lionheart... looks like snail damage to me... they have a rasping mouthpart that can do this. The sweet 100 is a tough plant to begin with. And one of my favorite cherries.

o

Hi guys, thanks for the "not-blight" info, I will refrain from ripping it out and burning it.