Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jemsister

Tomato wilting for no apparent reason

jemsister
10 years ago

Hey, I have a smallish tomato plant that I bought at Lowe's and transplanted into a fresh raised bed with brand new, never been planted soil. It's been doing well for the last five days, but today it is wilty. First it was just one branch that was wilted. But now some of the other leaves are also wilting. I am watering at the roots and keeping the leaves dry, and the soil is moist but not soggy. There are a couple of miniscule spots on one leaf, so I removed it for a photo. The spots don't really show up well, but there are about four of them, and they are a faded greenish-yellow color. Does this look or sound like any kind of disease thing? Or does my tomato need more or less water? I'm a novice, so I have no clue what I'm doing. But part of me is wishing I'd gone with a local nursery and not Lowe's...

Comments (13)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

My fist impression was powdery mildew given all the gray mold-appearing spots in the pic but that could be just the photo itself. Look up

Otherwise, wilting for no apparent reason is almost always root related ie: root rot due to overly wet soil. There is no need for the soil to be moist all the time. Tomato plants need only 1-1 1/2 inches total of water a week and letting the soil dry out some between waterings is fine.

Over-watering kills 10x as many plants as under-watering so when in doubt, don't water. See if cutting back on your watering doesn't let the plant perk up. If it doesn't then I'd be concerned with other forms of root damage.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato powdery mildew pics

• jemsister
    Original Author
    10 years ago