Return to the Tomato Pests & Diseases Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Brown stem and whitish bumps

Posted by hydrotrout (My Page) on
Wed, May 9, 07 at 14:46

I'm a pretty hopeless newbie, so maybe I should already know what this is, but I need a little help id'ing a problem. I have one Brandywine in the garden. It's about 2 ft tall now. The other tomates I have are all doing just fine. On this one, though, the stem is turning brown at the base, about two to four inches from the ground up. It also has small bumps which are sort of whitish in that area. the rest of the plant seems healthy, although the leaves are more wrinkly than maybe they should be. This is the first time I've grown Brandywine.

Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Brown stem and whitish bumps

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Thu, May 10, 07 at 0:05

The small bumps are likely root initials.

o

Is that something to worry about? The other tomatoes aren't doing that. The stem seems thinner at the base as well. I have it staked up pretty well, so it's not like it needs to hold up it's own weight or anything, but it seems like it's pretty soft there at the base of the stem.

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Fri, May 11, 07 at 1:36

If root initials, nothing to worry about. If that part of the stem were underground, the bumps would develop into roots.

o

I know this thread is over a year old but I am now growing my own brandywines and 4 of them have the same thing going on that is described above. I planted my seedlings root balls a good 6 to 8 inches down...should I just go ahead and pile more topsoil up the base of the plant where it is thinning and turning brown? The rest of the plant looks great just the 2 to 3 inches at the base getting narrower and harder that looks bad.