Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scottfsmith

Organic disease control methods?

Scott F Smith
18 years ago

I am doing my first serious tomato growing this year, and I usually do things organically. I have been growing vinafera grapes organically for a couple years now, and I have been moderately successful even though they are famously disease-prone in our hot, humid weather.

Are there any good resources for organic disease control, or lessons you have learned? I am very familiar with the usual organic sprays, namely copper, sulphur, summer oils, and soaps. Also I use seaweed and fish emulsion sprays and have the plants well composted. The best website I found was the ATTRA page, see below. It has a table at the end of disease treatments, but the summary is more or less "copper, copper, copper". In the organic and low-impact grape growing world there are many new disease treatments, i.e. Kaligreen (potassium bicarbonate), phosphorous acid, stylet oil, Serenade, etc, but there doesn't seem to be a similar effort in the tomato world. Or maybe they have tried and there are no big successes so far.

Scott

Here is a link that might be useful: ATTRA organic tomato

Comments (19)

• carolyn137
    18 years ago

Scott,

First things first.

I think each person needs to know what disease or diseases they're dealing with and then consider the treatments, or in some cases the preventative treatments that might be used.

For some diseases nothing will help, for others something can be used and for most either a synthetic or organic product can be used, with varying results.

So, disease ID first, and then how to address that disease is the way I think about the whole area of tomato diseases and possible treatments.

Does that make sense?

Carolyn

• Scott F Smith
    Original Author
    18 years ago