Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pricem11

TSWV, bacterial speck, or something Daconil will take care of?

pricem11
17 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I have 30 or so heirloom plants that have done great so far in my zone 7a central NC garden. This is my first year

gardening here with so many plants. However, in the last few days, I'm starting to see signs of danger :-). I have been spraying with Daconil once a week, and I use saponified Neem oil to control aphids etc. I have seen a fair number of green aphids, potato aphids, flea beetles, and white fly, but I have n't seen what I thought were thrips--even with a magnifier.

I'm attaching some photos of problem plants. The first two are Coyote:

I'm thinking it's TSWV and I need to yank it. The second photo is of top growth. Any confirmations are appreciated.

The second two are Lucky Cross:

Maybe preliminary signs of the same thing?

Finally, the last one is of Cherokee Purple:

There are more lesions like this one elsewhere on the plant. This looks fungal to me, right?

Thanks for any comments/advice. I hate to see things go down after so much hard work!

Mark

Comments (10)

• torquill
    17 years ago

I'd say you're thinking in the right ways on these, Mark. Those purple spots on Coyote look bad to me, and when you added in the curled top growth I said immediately, "I'd yank it." Bacterial speck tends to be more toward the bottom and black, not purplish... and it can't cause that distortion. Only two things cause new growth like that in tomatoes: herbicide or virus. I'd pull it.