Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattpacman

Early blight resistant to daconil?

mattpacman
13 years ago

My brother's very large tomato garden has almost been completely wiped out by what we believe is early blight. He had similar problems last season. He has sprayed religiously with Chlorothalonil every week or so. It doesn't seem to be slowing down the fungus at all.

He did try to crop-rotate, but there was partial overlap due to large amount of tomato planting. He also planted maters in some newly-tilled virgin (previously field-grass) soil and has it there as well.

My question is, as a physician, I know that many pathogenic (to humans) bacteria and fungi become resistant to antibiotics and anti-fungals. Is there any evidence of this with Chlorothalonil and early blight.

Also, does anyone have experience with using multiple fungicides simultaneously for severe blight?

I'll ask him for some pics to post, but we're almost certain from our research that this is early blight.

Comment (1)

• lionheart_gw (USDA Zone 5A, Eastern NY)
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi ya!

You might try asking this on the main tomato forum where we are fortunate to have resident PhDs in the life sciences, as well as other knowledgeable folks. :-)

From what I understand, chlorothalonil does not work to kill disease. Rather, it's effectiveness lies in preventing fungus spores from attaching to plant tissue, and it cannot kill existing infection. So resistance would not be an issue, as chlorothalonil works as a very effective preventive barrier. [Chlorothalonil has no effect on bacteria.]

For bacterial diseases, the home gardener would use a copper-based product, which has some efficacy when treating bacterial disease in tomatoes. Copper has *some* effect against fungus diseases too, and many folks will alternate chlorothalonil and copper when disease pressures are high.