Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okanagan_gw

curly tip virus

Okanagan
17 years ago

Evidently my tomato plants (sob) have developed a curly tip virus of some sort. Not all of them -- yet. I pulled up a couple that were bad off.

My question is whether there is any point in taking away the branch tips and leaving what is not yet twisted? I understand the virus is being spread by the aphids I see there and I will spray those with pyrethrum tonight.

Should I immediately uproot any whole plant that has one lifting twisting damaged branch tip?

Thanks,

Okanagan

Comments (4)

• jan_z8
    17 years ago

Hi ok,

I'm not an expert at all, but do you know for sure you have a virus? Have you seen herbicide damage before? It certainly results in the newer growth curling right up. I live near a golf course, and they're busy spraying in the last couple of weeks; even though they never admit this, my tomato plants tell me - as they have for the last couple of years! My plants usually recover.

Good luck,
    ~jan

• Okanagan
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Jan --
    Yep, seen herbicide damage. Did some myself when I tried a dandelion killer. Shudder. Bad call. I don't believe in that stuff...but this property is so neglected. Used to be rental.

Anyway, the reason I think it's a virus is it has been gradually getting worse and spreading. Some plants have been wilting in the heat for no reason, even when the soil is moist! Inability to uptake water is an effect of some of the viruses I read about. Also, I read it is spread by various pests like aphids and leafhoppers. The first and worst infected plant did have aphids. First I'd seen of aphids here.

Hard to do, but this morning I ripped out all those plants, which were almost a yard high, about 80 cm. THey just weren't bushing and growing like they should have. They were stalling. The branch tips were lifing up and starting to twist. It was spreading daily, not a one-shot deal.