Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bpfahnl

Photo of sick leaves on Sungold

BPfahnl
18 years ago

This has happened with my Sungold and two Sugar Lump plants. Can you help me identify what the problem might be?

{{gwi:1298017}}

Comments (9)

• NoSupplies
    18 years ago

There is a great thread called " HELP!!! Tomato Problem Solver 2"
    If you go to Disease Management in Tomatoes, and then Fungal Leaf and Fruit Spots or Blights.

The First Picture is of Septoria Leaf Spot (Septoria Blight)
    it looks like whats on your leaf in the picture.

Linked forum in case it slides out of sight

I am just learning about the diseases myself, I can't confirm, just those pictures looked very similar to each other )

Good Luck

Joyce

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato Problem Solver 2

• bpfahnl_nh
    18 years ago

You are right, the pictures are very close and Septoria Leaf Spot seems to be a common problem in New England. (And we just had a week of rain.)

The Sungold plant (worst infected) was the only seedling I purchased. But the Sugar Lump plants are in two separate beds far from each other and far from the Sungold. I am wondering why would only those plants be infected? Or be infected first?

• NoSupplies
    18 years ago

I'm not sure, I have Early Blight which seems to be very close in behavior (Fungus, airborn, spreads during the same conditions as one another)

Most recomend Daconil/Ortho Garden Disease Control, I told my husband when i sent him after it make sure you can use it on produce. and He came back with the right stuff ))

It seems to be working in slowing the fungus down.

All of my plants are affected to one degree or the other now, however the ones I started and sent to other homes are doing very well, and they are disease free with no extra effort.
    And I didn't have any problems last year at all with my plants they were very healthy.

Good luck,
    Joyce

• bpfahnl_nh
    18 years ago