Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nootay

verticillium wilt??

nootay
13 years ago

This is my first time posting here. I have been reading these forums for several years and just wanted to say thanks to everyone for all the useful information!

I have about 6 different types of tomatoes this year. I cant remember all the types, but i remember mr stripey, ariey (not sure how they are spelled), july 4th, brandywine, and roma. There is another red variety and a pink one too, but i cant remember the names. Anyways, all of my plants are starting to wilt. It started with just the new growth on the tips, but some of the plants are almost completely wilted. The mr. stripey plants are completely wilted and one plant has no blooms. All of the others have a bunch of blooms, and many have large tomatoes growing. The July 4th ones have already produced some tomatoes and have the least amount of wilt of them all. From what ive read it sounds like verticillium wilt, but figured id post here and see what everyone says.

I have been out of town a good bit, but have watered thoroughly with soaker hoses. The tomatoes grew quick between my trips and i couldnt keep them all inside their cages. Below are pictures:

{{gwi:1298250}}
{{gwi:1298253}}
{{gwi:1298255}}
{{gwi:1298256}}
{{gwi:1298258}}
{{gwi:1298260}}
{{gwi:1298262}}

Sorry they are so big. Figured i wouldnt resize them much so you can see some detail.

Adam

Comments (4)

• torquill
    13 years ago

Doesn't look like Verticillium to me, based on the pictures... V wilt tends to cause yellowing before the whole plant wilts like that, and these are still green all over.

It looks like some of the leaves have gone all skinny and twisty, sort of like corkscrews; am I seeing that right? They're still green, but they've sort of rolled up and elongated into ribbons, then curled.