Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladygish

Weird tomato problem??

ladygish
13 years ago

This is my first time growing anything so I apologize if this is obvious but I couldn't find anything online except for an unanswered question describing my problem. There weren't any pictures of it either.

I planted seeds outdoors in a container and then transplanted the seedlings to garden soil bags (I read suggestions in a couple places to grow 3 plants per bag). Some of my seedlings didn't seem to be doing as well so I waited a little longer to transplant them to the bags. The 3 plants I transferred first shot off and were doing great. Then I moved the other 3 plants into their bag and they took off as well (though they're still smaller). My biggest plant is still well under a foot, probably because I started them in late April.

A few days ago, out of nowhere, we had this ridiculous wind storm. It didn't last long and when I went outside, the 3 biggest plants (all in the same bag) were leaning terribly. The smaller plants are still totally straight. I didn't know if it's okay to straighten them or not but their leaves are touching the soil. Today I noticed one of the plants looked really bad. It's leaves are wilted and the stem looks diseased. I very gently tried to straighten it a bit and the whole plant snapped right off at the soil line!

Now that I have it inside, I can see where the stem looks like the skin split away. These "sores" go up all sides of the stem but they are worse on one side. I can see the inside of the stem and it looks dried out. I've been watering daily except when it rains (which has been a lot lately). There are 2 fairly deep splits in the very bottom of the stem. There are also some tiny holes in the leaves but I don't know if it's related or not. Oh and I don't know if it matters or not but these are heirloom tomatoes.