Return to the Tomato Pests & Diseases Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Remove catfaced tomatoes or not?

Posted by Riff z7 NorthernVA (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 15, 05 at 1:11

I have two "Rose" heirloom tomato plants. I am not very experienced with tomatos, and have never grown this type before. There are several quite large green fruits that I believe exibit some catfacing: tan areas and small holes in the blossom end of the tomato.

Will these fruits be (partially) edible if allowed to ripen, or should I remove these so the plant can use its nutrients elsewhere? Advice appreciated!

--Riff.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Remove catfaced tomatoes or not?

Unless they look really disfigured and the holes etc. look very deep and open (in which case disease/bugs could get in) I'd leave it. They'll still be perfectly yummy. Just don't save seeds from those particular tomatos. :)

Here is a link that might be useful: catfacing

o

I have a lot of catfaced tomatoes this year due to unseasonably cool temperatures during some critical times. Most of them just look a little weird, but will be perfectly edible if they make it to ripening without being ruined by disease or bugs (which has happened to some, in which case I of course removed them from the plant).

A little curious about your wording, are the "holes" in the blossom end more like indentations covered with skin or scarring, or open to the inside flesh? If the holes are open, they will probably attract disease/insects pretty quickly.

Shaila

o

When the maters are really rolling in, I'll remove the very small catfaced toms. I leave them if the get any size. Usually the catfaced toms are early ones.

o

• Posted by Riff z7 NorthernVA (My Page) on
    Mon, Jul 18, 05 at 19:57

Huh! I posted a reply to this a day or two ago, and it appears to have been lost!