Return to the Tomato Pests & Diseases Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anybody know II

Posted by Nanelle 9/Sunset 14 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 8, 05 at 12:28

I hope this is a better picture; Same message...

"Some of you may know I am looking for evidence of mites on my toomatoes. So far, you've he;ped me identify some spiders. Thanks, I will try to protect the good guys. But SOMETHING is damaging my leaves. How about these guys?"

Image link: Anybody know II (13 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anybody know II

Jean already answered you in your original thread below early this AM and told you it was a spider.

Carolyn, who doesn't "do" bugs. ( smile)

o

I'm sorry if I'm being a pest. This is not the same picture abd not the same bug. I am trying to tell the good guys from the bad, AND I'm trying to improve my photography and picture posting savy at the same time. I'm no expert , but I'm sure this is not a picture of spiders. Could easily be aphids but I don't know that they can cause the damage I'm seeing. I have one more picture of the webs, damage, and ?droppings, and another of soome very tiny brick red bugs, then I'm done...for now...

o

Yes aphides.
Carolyn, There are three postings by Nanelle.
The spider
The small picture with aphides
And the large picture with aphides
The posting with the large and small picture of the aphides
(This posting) was not answered by Jean but by me.
What a hoot. Its just a simple mix up.

Worth

o

Nanelle,
The tiny brick red bugs are probably spider mites and could be another source of your webs (your spider being the first). I'm not sure what kind of damage spider mites cause to a plant. Aphids suck the leaves and can cause them to curl up- some of my leaves actually turned a paler green. I suppose a heavy infestation of them could literally suck the life out of a plant. Good Luck.

o

OK, 3 different bugs, thanks.

I still don't do bugs unless they're ones I know from my area. LOL

Carolyn

o

Thanks all!

o