Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abufish

Aphids? Leaf curl up, tomato rot before turing red

abufish
17 years ago

Hi This is my first year of tomato growing. I have four tomato plants, three of them have tomatoes on them, havn't turn red/orange yet. I started noticing some curl leaves since last week, and one tomato found half rot still on the branch. I looked into every leaf carefully, there're some very tiny aphid look insect, black, some have white stripes. They jump and disappear when you try to touch them. Some eggs on the leaves too. Can the "aphids" cause rot fruit? I sprayed some dawn liquid with water, doesn't do much help since these "aphids" quickly disappear. Noticed some "aphids" on my bell pepper plant too.

Here are some images, overall:

{{gwi:1299762}}

curled leaves:

{{gwi:1299764}}

"aphid" and the eggs on leaf:

{{gwi:1299766}}

eggs again:

{{gwi:1299768}}

rotting tomatoes:

{{gwi:1299770}}

some brownish marks on stem and fruit

{{gwi:1299772}}

Thanks a lot!

Comments (3)

• tomgirletc
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Those (eggs) look like psyllid nymphs to me, the actual eggs are very tiny and are often found hanging on the edge of leaves in a row, the "aphids" are the adult psyllid flies. I had nymphs on one leaf but they were on the underside of the leaf. Look at the thread that's titled "HELP! tomato problem solver" and then select the one that is from UC Davis for good info about this tough insect to battle. Also you could google pictures search for "Psyllid tomato" etc. Also use search feature on this website for psyllid, there are a few of us that have battled them.