Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shesalittlebear

My Tomato Plants are dying quick

shesalittlebear
18 years ago

Hi All,

My tomato plants are dying quick. All but 2 look very unheathly. A couple hav already died. This is my first time uploading pictures, so I hope they turn out. Here they are:

As you can see, they all look sick in different ways. Also, may of my tomatoes are sunscald and some had BER. Any advice?

Comments (20)

• tdscpa
    18 years ago

No advice, as I am just a beginner, but I wish mine would die quickly from obvious disease, rather than developing "leather leaf", stop growing, stay green for a month, gradually get crispy, finally turn brown, taking up a month of my time trying, without any success, to revive them.

I'm beginning to think tomatoes do not do well in places that have 100 degree temperatures with 30 mph constant wind.

If they suddenly "got sick", I would probably spray them with a disease control, then pull them up in three days and put them in the trash.

Tom

• 1janetta0
    18 years ago

30mph constant wind is NOT good. Do other people in your area grow tomatoes? If so, and they're successful, try to find out what varieties they're growing, and put up a wind block.
    Good luck.
    As for shesalittlebear's question.....????

• worth1
    18 years ago

Have you been spraying herbicide around the place?
    Where did you get the mulch?
    How moist is the ground.
    Is it water logged or dried out?
    It looks pretty darn bad.

Give us info on this.

Worth

• carolyn137
    18 years ago

Where are you in CA?

High on my list would be
    Fusarium
    Verticillium
    Root Knot Nematodes.

.....based on your location and the large amount of dead foliage.

But I can't see the whole plants.

Any wilting and if so, does it start with single branches and how did it progress with regvard to both wilting and foliage color change?