Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teufelhundenmom

Red spider mites or aphids?!! My tomatoes are curling up!

teufelhundenmom
15 years ago

This is my first time gardening; my neighbor inspired me, but he has told me that because of our weather, my tomatoe plants are curling up and looking terrible! His, meanwhile, look fine! Upon further inspection, I discovered a few tiny red bugs/mites and researched the internet to identify them, but I am having difficulty distinguishing between the two. I hope someone can take a look at my pictures and tell me what I'm dealing with and how to combat it!

{{gwi:1300202}}
{{gwi:1300203}}

{{gwi:1300204}}
{{gwi:1300205}}

As you can see (hopefully!), the leaves on the plant are curling up (nearly all of my plants look this way!)and these little pests are sprinkles all over them. I tried Sevin dust and also sprayed a little pyrethrin just to see if they would die, but they're still moving!!! Please, somebody, help!!!

Comments (4)

• jean001
    15 years ago

The small critters resemble aphids. (I would say "are" aphids but the photos are rather small!)

When it comes to the narrow and twisty growth, and also because you say it's on nearly all your plants, I suspect weed killer damage.

So, what do you use?

And if you don't use weed killer, do you have a "garden helper" among family, friends or neighbors with good intentions?

• teufelhundenmom
    Original Author
    15 years ago