Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schoenhofer78

Need Help To Identify Tomato Wilt

Schoenhofer78
9 years ago

Hello. This is my first year with a vegetable garden. I really don't have a good spot in my yard that both gets sun and wouldn't get sprayed with the sprinkler system. So I did some reading on this website and decided to try growing in some containers in a landscaped, but sunny corner of my back yard.

I bought some 20 gallon smart pots and used Al's 5-1-1 mix. I couldn't figure out how I'd make enough mix without going broke until I found some stuff that was premixed and exactly what I was looking for. Grower's Mix by Jemasco, check it out. $8 for 3 cubic feet. I don't know how much you spend on mixing this stuff, but I'd guess this is a lot cheaper and less work.

I did peppers in one pot, okra in another, and tomatoes for the 4 more and surrounded them with Marigold, Basil, and other herbs. The tomatoes are Jet Star, Better Boy, Brandywine, and Large Red Cherry. Getting plenty of Okra, but not enough on one plant to really have enough to eat. But the Okra leaves are now wilting in the heat. 90+ degree temps here in Wichita, KS, but not really that hot of a summer. Brandywine started slow, but looks great now. Better Boy grows really spindly, even with lots of pruning. Too many stalks at the bottom to get big tomatoes, I think. Peppers are doing great. The Garden Salsa variety has the perfect amount of heat and flavor.