Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blondie69_gw

Black Krim with curling top leaves and spots

blondie69
18 years ago

Hi, I'm new to gardening and have undertaken, at least I think so, a good-sized garden this year. I have planted 17 different varieties of heirloom tomatoes, and I have one lone plant, my Black Krim, that has started to look a little tough. I didn't get them in the ground until the first week in July, and all plants are doing remarkably well and growing. However, I've noticed in the last week some curling leaves on the top few branches in combination with some almost greyish-brown splotches on the leaves. They aren't a true spot, but more uneven with undefined borders. I've been reading dozens and dozens of these threads and doing research, but can't seem to pinpoint the problem. I spoke with Laurel yesterday, and she recommended I come to this web site for some possible answers. I have a nice 2 to 3 inch mulch of straw in my tomato bed, and I've used fish emulsion for fertilizer as recommended. Any ideas on what it could be?

Comments (2)

• nctom
    18 years ago

I'd love to try and help you while we wait for the Calvery to get here.
    Did the curling coincide with the leaf splotches?
    Which way are the leafs curling? Upward curling of leaves in itself is fairly comon and usually disconcerning.
    Any texture to the splotches? Like mold.
    I have had brownish purplish spots before that I believe were a result of using liquid kelp and fish emulsion. Some sort of sun burn or reaction.
    Have you had a problem with insects like aphids,thrips or anything else.
    If you have any fruit yet do they show any problems? If you don't have fruit you are pushing the envelope before frost in your area.

I'll share this much now.
    There is only so much you can do to stop or slow fungal or bacterial disease. You can spray with a copper based spray or Ortho garden disease control, they should be available to you at home stores or nurseries.