Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lesuko

Tomato disease- wilt or blight?

Lesuko
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to gardening and our area, Boulder zone 5, has been more humid that usual and am hearing that there is a lot of fungus attacking tomatoes (and my squash).

The leaves are getting brown spots- that are about the size of grapes, turning yellow and eventually dying, and progressing from bottom up.

I've gone to garden stores and called the extension office- not helpful at all. I've tried copper and green cure (a week ago and will try another application tonight), however it's not stopping the disease from spreading.

The plants are 4-6 ft tall with lots of fruit. The better boys and stupice have stopped producing new blossoms and are not growing past the 4ft. The cherries and romas are still producing flowers. It does not seem that it is affecting the fruit yet. I'm cutting away the diseased stems which are about 1/5 of the plants now. I don't know how much to keep cutting as it spreads.

Has anyone experienced this or know what to do?

Thanks,

Leslie

Image link:

Comments (6)

• dancinglemons
    12 years ago

Hello Leslie,

It sounds like you have Tomato Russet Mite. I had same problem and posted over on the main Tomato forum. There are two posts on the Tomato forum now. My post about crunchy brown tomato leaves and another about the Russet mite. The experts there reccomend a spray with sulpher and another spray by the Montery garden folks. I used Espoma 3 in 1 in the 'pink' bottle because it has sulpher and pyrethrin. I had a really bad infestation and it started just like yours at the bottom and worked up the plant. No results yet for me but I only discovered the problem this past weekend.

DL

• jean001a
    12 years ago

Doesn't look like russet mites to me.
    Here's info & pictures from UC Davis
    http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/GARDEN/VEGES/PESTS/tomrusmite.html

Here is a link that might be useful: russet mites

• Lesuko
    Original Author