Return to the Tomato Pests & Diseases Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is this early blight?

Posted by firsttimegrdnr IL (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 11, 09 at 16:46

I have been advised that the tomato plant I am growing in a community garden has blight. I noticed spots on the leaves a week ago and pruned the worst of them a few days ago. There are still a few leaves and stems with spots, which I have taken three pictures of. A neighbor's plot has the same (or very similar) thing going on to a greater extent, so I took two pictures are of their plants as well. After reading about and looking at numerous pictures of the disease, I'm overwhelmed! Can anyone lend a hand identifying the problem with these tomato plants?

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato Images

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is this early blight?

I am no expert by any means. But this looks exactly like what my plants had and what is referred to here in Vermont as Blight (there is a word in front of that but I don't know which, 'Light' perhaps?)

On my plants it started with teeny tiny spots but no matter how many leaves you take off, it doesn't disappear. It seems to be a fungus that also kills potatoes.

It was quite a surprise when the blight showed up where we live. It killed all my tomato plants, and I only saved about 25, 30 tomatoes that are still green.

M~.

o

Remove the infected leaves and spray the plant, top and underside of the leaves, with a fungicide contain a copper compound. Yes it is blight. Through the infected leave in the garbage and at season end remove ALL of the plants and put them in garbage. Leave NO debris in the garden. Google 'tomato blight' to get more info.

o

I got blight in GH this year.
I have removed only bad leaves for now and sprayed plants.
Will see later.

Question: how it origanated? from seeds? soil? air? I did not have blight last year. I don't have it on toms outside, only in greenhouse.

Should i replace all soil in GH in winter or just spray with something?