Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thespirals

Whiteflies!!! aiy yai yai!

thespirals
18 years ago

I've been growing cherry tomatoes for a few months. They started outdoors, and then I moved them indoors when I moved to the city. They were doing great, theyre flowering and beginning to fruit. Then I noticed that one of my plant's (there's two) leaves started to yellow and then die. They started on the bottom, so I thought that was normal because many plants let their bottom leaves die......but then they started to die out of order, so I check and therestons of whiteflies all over the leaves!

I've been going through each and every leaf, trying to kill them all....and damaging the leaves myself in the process because I've been trying to scrap them off, but every day they keep coming back.

I don't know what to do. I thought about ladybugs but they would probably just fly out my window whenever I opened it. Please help!

I heard that spraying garlic water on the plant will help.......is this true? I thought it was quite funny because whiteflies are like little vampires, sucking my leaves dry, and to use garlic water....lol....what next, drive tiny silver spears through their bodies? :P

Comments (5)

• suze9
    18 years ago

Don't waste your time with garlic water, ladybugs, and such. You need something that is actually going to kill the whiteflies and fast (they multiply at an exponential rate).

Apply insecticidal soap at 3-4 day intervals to ALL surfaces of the plants for a couple or three weeks until you have good control. After that, keep a close eye on the plants and treat as necessary.

You'd mentioned having the plants "inside". If greenhouse or sunroom evironment, that could make treatment difficult and other things may need to be done (fumigation, repeated treatments, etc.)