Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scrumpy_gw

Mini Roma problem - photo attached

scrumpy
16 years ago

Up until Thursday 13th Dec my mini roma tomatoes had been developing as normal in my indoor passive hydroponic wick system. On Wednesday night for about an hour I turned on a small aquarium air pump to aerate the nutrient solution's reservoir. I do this about once or twice a week to make sure the solution remains fully mixed.

On Thursday evening I noticed that the few, small green tomatoes had developed slightly darkened areas containing a few blackish spots (at their stigma end). Please see the attached photo.

What is this? Blossom end rot?

BTW, it's my first time growing tomatoes and posting on this forum :)

Daytime indoors ambient temp is about 23c and the nutrient solution is 20c. Humidity is in the 70s.

I'm using a liquid nutrient, Hyponex High Grade 7-10-6 mixed 2ml per litre. The wick system was flushed and 2 1/3 litres of new solution was added on 4th Dec and this was topped up with 1 1/3 litres of cooled, filtered and boiled tap water (pH 6) on Tuesday 11th Dec. I had intended to flush and refill the system sometime next week.

I haven't checked the pH of the current nutrient solution.

Any ideas what's wrong and what can I do to fix the problem would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Scrumpy :)

Image link:

Comments (3)

• scrumpy
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Further to my previous post, I am now convinced that my mini roma tomatoes have blossom end rot.

I hadn't realised how thirsty my tomato plants had become now that they are developing fruit but this evening I found that the nutrient solution in the reservoir had dropped to a depth of less than 2cm!

This is surely the reason why the tomatoes have taken a turn for the worse in the past few days. Drinking from the remaining solution which has been depleted of certain nutrients but has a higher ratio of others can't be good.