Return to the Topiary Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My new topiary is not thriving, help please.

Posted by myaaagirls z5 IN (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 28, 05 at 12:30

Hi everyone. I am new to topiary although not new to gardening. A little over a month ago I purchased an ivy wreath shaped topiary, potted at the base. When I purchased it the leaves were dark green and vibrant. It is slowly starting to look sad. The leaves are begining to yellow a bit and it appears that it has gotten powdery mildew. Does anyone have some general guidlines for watering and sun and maybe some tipe to restore its beauty? Thanks so much in advance!

Stephanie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My new topiary is not thriving, help please.

Ivy is usually very tough.

First place to check is the potting mix. If someone put it into peat and it's dried out then it can be very difficult to rehydrate.

Being a reckless soul, I'd plunge the whole lot into a big container of rainwater, or tap water that's stood for a while. If it floats, then water take-up is part of the problem. if it slowly sinks, giving off endless streams of bubbles - ditto.

If you have access to good garden soil you could mix one part garden soil with two parts of non-peat potting mix and a half part of sharp clean grit (NOT sand). The grit lets more air into the mix and helps the water spread out.

No water crystals, and no extra fertiliser until the plant starts to recover.

If your weather isn't too variable, put it outside in a sheltered place and bring it in at night if there is frost danger. About a half day of sun or a little less. Wind shelter until it settles down in the pot.

If you find wildlife in the pot has eaten a lot of the root system you'll have to (sob) take back some of the leaves and branching. They have to be in balance so there are enough roots to send water up to the leaves. Not there - wilt and drop.